2020 Honourees


To Search press Ctrl-F

Jibs Abitoye (AB)

City Councillor, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

Apefa Adjivon (ON)

Youth Advisor

Doreen Alexander (ON)

Infection Control Practitioner (ICP)

Letna Allen-Rowe (ON)

Actress. Entrepreneur, Event Planner and Storyteller

Brittany Andrew-Amofah (ON)

Senior Policy Analyst and Media Commentator

Beth Applewhite (BC)

Vice Principal

Wendy Beckles (ON)

President and CEO

Kamshuka (ON)

Author, an award winning entrepreneur, International Speaker & Certified Life Coach

Cheryl Blondell-King (ON)

Crown Attorney
Criminal Lawyer in Toronto

Akosua Tiwaah Bonsu (MB)

Director of Programming
Policy and Program Analyst with the Government of Manitoba

Maxine Aku Brown (ON)

Founder – Manya Krobo Girls project

Marcia Brown (ON)

Founder and Executive Director of Trust 15 Youth Community Support Organization

Fennella Bruce (ON)

Media Consultant

Dr. Alana Butler (ON)

Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Education at Queen’s University

Janet Campbell (ON)

CEO – Nanni’s Natural Hair

Kares Clarke Glasgow (ON)

Owner – Kares Nail Care

Janice Clarke-Searles (ON)

Retired Principal / Unsung Hero

Her Worship Carol Cushnie

Justice of the Peace

Maxine Daley (ON)

Director of Corporate Services Branch

Njeri Damali Sojourner-Campbell, M.Ed, JD (ON)


Ms. Cherie Alexa Ann Daniel (ON)

Professor / Lawyer

Her Worship Martha De Gannes (ON)

Regional Senior Justice of the Peace

Mabinti Dennis (ON)

Founder of Tulsi Mindfulness Pathway for Children and Parents

Beverley Dixon (ON)

Unsung Hero / Seniors’ Advocate

Vivienne Dickson (ON)

Founder – A Supreme Nursing & Homecare Services

Sharon Douglas (ON)

Director, Community Investment/Change Consultant

Dr. Eugenia Duodu (ON)

Chemist and CEO of Visions of Science Network for Learning

May-Marie Duwai-Sowa (ON)

Employment Equity Specialist

Emerita Emerencia (ON)

Theatre, Radio & Film Performer

Nancy Falaise (QC)

Salon Académie Nancy Falaise

Isabelle Christiane Fotsing Djouwe (QC)

Engineer and Co-founder and CTO of Watergeeks

Marie France Fleurantin (QC)

Vice President – Unifor Local 62

Aisha K. Francis (ON)

Founder of Project: Restore FIBI (Families Impacted by Incarceration) – Ontario

Kathy Grant (ON)


Meseret Desta Haileyesus (ON)

CEO Canadian Center for Women’s Empowerment & Maternity Today

Michelle S. Henry (ON)


Sharon Hinds (ON)

Manager, All IN, Rogers Sports & Media

Nadia L. Hohn (ON)

Children’s Author / Teacher

Chioma Ifeanyi-Okoro (ON)

Award-winning strategy and growth Consultant
Founder of My African Corner

Michele James (ON)

Vice President –
Scarborough Health Network

Dr. June M. James (MB)


Tyjondah Kerr (ON)

Senior Manager – Municipal & Community Relations

Cheryl Kerr (ON)

CEO / Owner Medex Health Services

Dr. Claudette Knight (ON)

Vice President – HR CIBC

Candies Kotchapaw (ON)

Registered Social Worker and Founder and Executive Director of Developing Young Leaders of Tomorrow, Today (DYLOTT).

Patricia Mayaza Mwilu Marie-Antoinette Kumbakisaka (Ottawa, ON)

Foreign Policy Young Leader/Assistant to Labour Relation Officer

Madge Logan (ON)

Retired Superintendent of Education

Lorna Looby-Crosse (ON)

Retired Vice Principal

Darlène Lozis (ON)

Communicator/Mediator/ President A.-P.O. and 3R International

Ahdri Zhina Mandiela (ON)

Award-winning Poet and Theatre Artist

Robyn Maynard (QC)


Claudette McGowan (ON)

Global Executive Officer for Cyber Security

Jacqueline McIntosh (ON)

Unifor Activist

Sharmaine McKenzie (ON)

Director, Strategic Planning and Operations – Ryerson University

Sharon McLeod (ON)

Academic-Activist, Broadcast Journalist, Arts & Media Content Creator

Mosa McNeilly (ON)

Artist, Performer, Educator, Editor & Sacred Leader

Gael Miller-Jackson (ON)

Direct Descendant, Gospel Singer/Author

Cynthia Mufandaedza (NT)

First Black City Councillor of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories Co-Owner of Best Movers; Owner of Dash Events Designs and Rental

Carol Mundley (ON)

Mental Health Nurse and former chair of the OPSEU Womens Committee

Collette Coco Murray (ON)

Director – Dance Educator, Performer, and Cultural Arts Programmer

Karen Murray (ON)

Principal, Equity, Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression

Michèle Newton (ON)

Creator of Mosaic Lives

Justina Ijeoma Nwaesei (Windsor, ON)

Senior Land Use Planner
[Registered Professional Planner, and
Member of the Canadian Institute of Planners]

Theresa Nyabeze (ON)

Professional Mining Engineer

Marie Nyiramana (ON)

Director of International Economic Relations and Strategy

Mary Ogunyemi (NL)

Owner / Former Senior Sales Director, Mary Kay Cosmetics

Regina Oppon (AB)

Executive Director, Rehoboth Alliance

Hazelle Palmer (ON)

President & Chief Exec. Officer
Sherbourne Health Centre

Sherrol Palmer Wickham (ON)

Registered Nurse

Adaoma Patterson (ON)

President -Jamaican Canadian
Association (JCA)

Ketcia Peters (ON)

Chief Executive Officer

Ruth Pryce (ON)

Unifor National Executive Board

Dr. Rai Reece (ON)

Professor – School of Social & Community Services – Humber College

Karen Richards (ON)

Chief Operating Officer

Tanika Riley (ON)

Executive Director – Por Amor

Dr. Ruth Rodney (ON)

Assistant Professor – School of Nursing,
Faculty of Health – York University

Beverley Rodrigues (ON)

CTDP, MSc. Learning and Development, Research and Resource Mobilization Consultant

Ebonnie Rowe (ON)

Founder/Producer / Executive Director
Honey Jam & PhemPhat
Entertainment Group

Colleen Russell-Rawlins (ON)

Associate Director in the Toronto District School Board

Surranna Sandy (ON)

CEO – Skills for Change

Maricia Silvera-Batson (ON)

Registered Nurse and Patient Safety Leader

Angela Simmonds (NS)

Managing Lawyer of the Equity & Access Office at the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society

Jan Simpson (ON)

National President – CUPW

Lisa Skeete (ON)

Labour Community Activist
CUPE Toronto District Count President BBTU

Marcia Adele Smellie (ON)

Educator / Unsung Hero

Dr. Malinda Smith (AB)

Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion) and Professor of Political Science, University of Calgary

Deanne Smith (ON)

Unifor Activist

Marjorie Taylor (ON)

Trustee – united Achievers Club
Award-Winning Community Leader

Nadia Thompson (MB)

Scheduling Clerk –
Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

Dr. Vincella Thompson (AB)

Dean, School of University Studies Alberta

Harriet Thornhill (ON)

Vice President – RBC
Advice Centre-Direct Investment Centre

Colleen Tsikira (NT)

Entrepreneur DME Driving School &
Lang Property Management

Marjorie Villefranche (QC)

Directrice Generale – Maison d’Hairi

Njeri Watkins (BC)

Data Analyst & Digital Intelligence
Consultant – UBC Instructor

Donna Wellington (ON)

Chief Operating Officer
Henry Ford Health Systems

Megan Whitfield (ON)

President – CUPW Toronto Local

Brenda Elizabeth Williams (ON)

Founder and Executive Director NewLife Project Inc.

Norma Williams (NS)

Former Exec Director – Diversity & Inclusiveness – President’s Office Dalhousie University

Sylvia Ildia Wilson (ON)

Co-Owner, Curator
Sheffield Park Black History & Cultural Museum

Etagegnhue Woldeab (ON)

Associate Director – OCASI